Can not create manager local container from sources

I am new in the openRemote ecosystem and I tend to modify both backend (i.e. create a new asset) and frontend as well. For that reason:

1. I successfully deployed locally the openRemote by following the “Quick Start” Tutorial

2. By following the “Developer Guide: Setting up an IDE” tutorial, I managed to create a new asset and to visualize it on the map.

3. Then and in order to modify slightly the Manager UI, I decided to deploy the Manager using a local docker container (build from modified sources to support my new asset). Therefore, I followed the UI Development profile and run the following commands:

.\gradlew clean installDist
docker-compose -f profile\dev-ui.yml build

The result is than no local images are build. No action performed. No container run.

I have also tried the following command:

docker-compose -f profile\dev-ui.yml up --build

It instantiates the containers from the images downloaded during step1. No local images created.

I have also tried to delete the images downloaded during step 1 and then to rerun the last command. It downloaded the images from your docker registry and instatiated them as containers.

I am working on a PC running windows 11 and docker desktop ver 4.4.4 (73704).

Well, at the risk of saying something unhelpful as I’m no developer:
With the containers running you can now serve the ui with npm run serve, and maybe some additional configuration: Developer Guide: UI apps and components · openremote/openremote Wiki · GitHub

Just to add some info:

The deploy.yml which is referenced by the dev-ui.yml profile doesn’t have build entries for the manager, this was removed as it made the compose profile un-usable due to a long standing bug where build dirs must exist even if you want to use images in the cache/from docker hub.

If you’ve modified the manager code (including UI) then running: