Open Remote control via wall plate or Amazon Echo (Alexa)

Hi all,

I’m just getting started investigating open remote and have a couple of design/functionality questions.

Here’s what I’m trying to accomplish: I have a Sony STR-DA3100ES receiver that has powered zone 3 connected to speakers in my master bathroom. The STR-DA3100ES has an RS-232 port and I’ve found the codes to control zone 3 with it.

My question is are there wall plates of some kind that can be used to interface with openremote. I basically would like a wall plate in the bathroom that has buttons for Power, Volume Up, Volume Down, Source and FM Preset. Is there a way to have such a wall plate send the signal to a PC via IR or network or ? that would then signal Open Remote to perform that function on the STR-DA3100ES via the RS-232 port?

Additionally to, or possibly in lieu of the wall plate, is there a way to interface with open remote via Amazon Alexa. Basically to have an Amazon Echo Dot sitting in the bathroom and be able to provide voice commands which are relayed to Open Remote? I suspect this would require an Alexa Skill. Does such a thing currently exist?

Hope all of this made sense. I am really just starting to investigate Open Remote but it seems if I could accomplish this it would be less clunky than the current solutions of IR relays and multiple devices.

Great question. Did you get any responses?

You could use a fully programmable Velbus glass panel for all of these features.

https://www.velbus.eu/products/view/?id=416302

Please be aware that this is a fully wired only solution.
You will need a minimum of 2 module for the system to function.

Creating the rules to act as a protocol translator is easy enough in this use case.

FYI

It's also possible to push text into the display on these modules.

Again using a rule to translate data between systems.